Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

Today is Dr. Seuss’s birthday! I love celebrating Dr Seuss and his wonderful stories of pure imagination. (As an elementary teacher, how could you not like Dr Seuss?!) I love that he can make sense out of senseless sentences, and make it all rhyme! Its like a whole other world in his stories where anything is possible. Imagination roams free. So in honor of today, I wan’t to share some of my favorite Dr. Seuss quotes with everyone…

“I say!” murmured Horton. “I’ve never heard tell
of a small speck of dust that is able to yell.
So you know what I think?…Why, I think that there must
Be someone on top of that small speck of dust!
Some sort of creature of very small size,
Too small to be seen by an elephant’s eyes…
…some poor little person who’s shaking with fear
That he’ll blow into the pool! He has no way to steer!
I’ll just have to save him. Because, after all,
A person’s a person, no matter how small.”
Horton Hears A Who! (1954)

I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind.
Some come from ahead and some come from behind.
But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see.
Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!

Today you are you! That is truer than true!
There is no one alive who is you-er than you!
Shout loud, “I am lucky to be what I am!
Thank goodness I’m not just a clam or a ham
Or a dusty old jar of sour gooseberry jam!
I am what I am! That’s a great thing to be!
If I say so myself, “HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!”
Happy Birthday To You! (1959)

 (photo found on Pinterest)

And I would quote the entire book of Oh, The Places You’ll Go! if I could. But I wont so here’s a very short part of it:

You’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!
Oh! The Places You’ll Go! (1990)

Think left and think right and think low and think high.
Oh, the thinks you can think up if only you try!

You’ll miss the best things if you keep your eyes shut.
I Can Read With My Eyes Shut

They say I’m old-fashioned, and live in the past, but sometimes I think progress progresses too fast!

Side note: I had green eggs and ham for lunch today! Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss!

Please tell me what you think! =)

