Rite of Passage – The Two-wheeler

Does anyone remember when and how they learned to ride a bike? I remember trying to learn and I couldn’t do it for the longest time.  I got a ton of scratches and scrapes and I think I even did some damage to a few tree trunks and fences…Needless to say it was a huge challenge for me. But finally, when I was at an age that I’m embarrassed to share, my uncle used the common and highly effective “pretend like you’re still holding on to the back of the bike” technique on me. I had no idea that he had let go a long time ago and I glanced back to see him way off in the distance. I was so excited that I forgot I was still riding my bike alone.  Of course, I freaked out and fell off, but hey I learned! And I was more confident, which helped a lot!

This is a photo that I took yesterday of a random bike that was chained to a handicapped parking sign. It’s purple like my first “big-girl” bike so it reminded me of when I was learning how to ride. I tried a little HDR with this photo, although I’m not sure it’s that noticeable.

Please tell me what you think! =)

